środa, 19 października 2011

Footprints #19 Masters Voice - Original Jazz Compositions

There were no plans on paper to get this particular mix done and I am as surprised as you are now. To be honest, I wasn’t looking forward to any new mixes and I was far from expecting that we’re about to provide yet another part just one month after vol.18 appeared. I wanted to postpone the publishing as it has become a sort of tradition for Footprints to pop up, more or less, every six months, if not more. When I played “Original Jazz Compositions” for the first time I completely forgot about the idea of postponing Marcin Lisowski’s (Master'sVoice) second Footprints mix. The selection seems to be highly influenced by the author’s new setting:

“I’ve just moved to Warsaw and I thought I need a soundtrack reflecting what surrounds me now. There are no boom-pow-experimental jazz tracks in this particular mix, it’s rather one of those you can listen to while exploring countless streets, nooks and crannies of a big city on an autumn evening, hence Warsaw’s Palace of Culture and Science on the cover created by Mr. Jayes.”

The mix lasts 27 minutes. The names enlisted below are probably well-known among the fans of the music encompassing brass instruments as you can see some real jazz legends in here, with the exception of Mattia Cigalini, a young and promising Italian saxophonist born in 1989. I’d say he’s worth keeping an eye on. Do not get misleaded by the list: the dates given are those of reeditions.

Footprints #19 Master’s Voice - Original Jazz Compositions (Download) (Cover)
(October 2011)

Jan Ptaszyn Wróblewski - The Opener (Muza, 2011)
Soul 4 introducing Mattia Cigalini - Arriving Soon (DejaVu, 2009)
Kenny Dorham - Sunset (Blue Note, 2000)
Donald Byrd - The Loner (Blue Note, 2009)
Bill Evans Trio - Re: Person I Knew (Riverside, 2009)
Krzysztof Komeda - Po Katastrofie (PolJazz, 1989)
Novi - Trzeba Wracać (Muza, 2009)
Jazz Chorał & Tomasz Szukalski Quartet - Hymn Dla Słońca (Muza, 2011)

wtorek, 20 września 2011

Footprints #18 Joteff presents Wandering Constellations

In mid-July Joteff messaged me asking whether I’m still responsible for the Footprints project. Obviously, the question was of a rhetorical kind as the series still exists and keeps blooming. One month later, I was informed that it’ll be ready for September. I received a  parcel containing a ready mix and all the details a few days ago. I was really impressed with how spectacular the whole project concerning Footprints #18 is!

The mix was recorded with the use of analogue records exclusively. Moreover, it is available in a form of a nicely packed, 50 copies limited CD. The cover art was created by Radek Drutis known for his cooperation with Stones Throw Records. The mix in both digital form and a physical copy is available for free, “for promotional use only, not for sale”. To get it, just write a message to joteff@jazzmentalism.com. The offer is valid on the first come first serve basis.

Wandering Constellations” is basically a trip throughout the music of the seventies. Jacek Furtak has skillfully mixed broadly-defined Polish jazz and funk music along with different sounds coming from various places on the map of Europe. The mix is also enriched with some new tracks from labels such as Strut or Now-Again. Let us take a look at the author himself: Joteff is  a promoter, record collector and a DJ, previously co-responsible for Basmentalism Poland project. He’s been publishing in magazines such as Klan Magazyn, Hiro, Hip Hop Magazyn, Polska The Times. Once having his broadcast in Warsaw’s Jazz Radio, now he’s engaged in a sociomusical project called Jazzmentalism. Here’s a short manual from Jacek:

I suggest taking a seat in a comfy armchair, along with a bottle of red wine, and listen…

What else can I say? Just grab some fine kush and you’re ready to go on a trip through the constellation.

Footprints #18 Joteff presents Wandering Constellations (download)
(September 2011)


01. Jerzy Milian - Never More (Muzyka Baletowa i Filmowa, Muza 1973 LP)
02. MRR-ADM - Untitled (Untitled, Not On Label 2008 10")
03. The Heliocentrics - Joyride (Out There, Now-Again 2007 LP)
04. Csaba Deseő Jazz Quintet & Friends - Message (Ultraviola, Pepita 1977 LP)
05. Stringtronics - Ballata (Mindbender, Peer International Library
Limited 1972 RE, LP)
06. Arp-Life - Baby Bump (Jumbo Jet, Muza, 1977 LP)
07. Laboratorium - Przejazd (Quasimodo, Muza 1979 LP)
08. Milan Svoboda & Polish-Czech Big Band - Tribute To G.E. (Interjazz
5, Suprahon 1986 LP)
09. Piotr Figiel Ensemble - Agent 008 (Gdzies Kiedys..., Pronit 1979 LP)
10. Marc Moulin - Tohubohu - Part I (Sam Suffy, CBS 1975 LP)
11. Mulatu Astatke And The Heliocentrics - An Epic Story (Inspiration
Information, Strut 2009 LP)
12. Hydroponic Sound System - Delirium (Alternate Take Music, ?? 7")
13. Dzamble - Swieto Strachow (Wolanie O Slonce Nad Swiatem, Muza 1971 LP)
14. Endaf Emlyn - Dawns y Pair (??, ?? LP)
15. Heavy Metal Sextet - Prosze Natychmiast Przestac Padac (Heavy
Metal Sextet, PolJazz 1984 LP)
16. The Natural Yogurt Band - Soft Cheese (Away With Melancholy,
Jazzman/Now-Again 2009 10")

wtorek, 7 czerwca 2011

Footprints #17 x Soul-Jazz.pl - Nature Sounds

There was a time when Sun Ra sent out a warning to the creatures of our planet. His message has become more relevant in the context of what’s been going on Earth these days. Volcanic activity, violent earthquakes, forest fires, tornadoes and hurricanes. Nature seems to be wrathful. Being one of the most current and controversial, one of the hypotheses of the end of the world (or, perhaps, a civilization?) presumes that only 5 per cent of the whole population will survive the Armageddon. Bearing in mind this prophecy, the most recent mix in the Footprints series would be this theme in the ultimate soundtrack where the nature’s sounds can be finally heard after the era of people’s destructive noise. The sounds of nature as imagined by the musicians who care or did care about the planet. If some jazz at dusk sounds like your thing, no matter if you’ve just woken up or you’ve been staying awake for the whole night, this mix is for you as it portends the birth of a new day, a day which may turn out to be better than the previous one. Jędrzej Siwek (Soul-Jazz.pl/Phono), known for his tribute to Grover Washington Jr, is the author of volume #17. The artwork was created by Michał Księżuk. Below is a brief description from the author:

Two years of deliberate choices and random findings, two years of exploiting my wallet and bank account, of dusty digging and international shipping. A two-year quest… And after those two years, an immense satisfaction at the completion of an analogue project, Nature Sounds. Ladies and gentlemen, here’s a classic(al) podcast for two turntables and a mixer. A rhythmic lullaby, an analogue meditation, a soundtrack for a walk, jogging, yoga - you name it. Whatever #17 turns out to be, you dot the “i”: the last word in defining the shape of this jazz footprint is yours.Please, do it reasonably as the authors of the pieces below deserve the best treatment.

Footprints #17 x Soul-Jazz.pl - Nature Sounds (Click here to download)
(June 2011)

1. Buster Williams - Veronica (Muse, 1979)
2. Jerzy Milian - Sheik of Urology (OBUH, 2005)
3. Yusef Lateef - Sunset (Atlantic, 1973)
4. Paul Horn - The Mahabhutas. Prithivi (CBS, 1972)
5. Hu Vibrational - Friends and Gardens (Soul Jazz, 2004)
6. AmmonContact - Our Cry for Peace (Plug Research, 2003)
7. Sabu Martinez - A Memo to Art Blakey (Mellotronen, 2008)
8. Build An Ark - Nature (Kindred Spirits, 2010)
9. Sławomir Kulpowicz - Ananda (Muza, 1987)
10. David Lee Jr. - Spirit Voice (Universal Sound, 2010)
11. Doug Carn - Peace (Black Jazz, 1997)